Globetrotting ethnomusicologist Alan Lomax left a wealth of information concerning music around the world. He visited some of the most distant lands or even close, but remote areas. This website contains audio, visual and text around Lomax's journeys and findings. A fun place to explore!
Ever wanted to read those old movie rags from the 20's, 30's and 40's? Well now you can with this project. Hosts several major media related periodicals including Photoplay, Film Daily and International Photographer. Public Domain issues loaned and digitized from collectors all over the world!
Search for hymns by title, first words, hymn tune, or other options. Scores for most hymns available in PDF or Sibelius format. You can also discover which hymnals included the title, and in what year they were published.
In order to commemorate the bicentenary of Liszt's birth as well as to bring attention to the Library of Congress's substantial holdings of primary source material related to this composer, the present site is offered as a portal to facilitate the exploration of the Library's rich resources.
The Library's holdings of holograph manuscripts, correspondence, first editions, as well as publications related to Liszt may be identified by consulting the Library of Congress Online Catalog and/or the card record catalogs held in the Library's Performing Arts Reading Room.
The Music Treasures Consortium provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.
Researchers can search or browse materials, access metadata about each item, and view digital images of the treasure via each custodial archive's Web site. The consortial collection will grow as members add more materials.
American Choral Music, a collaboration of the the Library of Congress and the American Choral Directors Association, provides access to significant choral music in the public domain by the leading American composers of the time.
The Library of Congress’s Russian Imperial Collection is comprised of approximately 2800 volumes which were originally held within the personal libraries of the Russian Imperial family. This Collection contains publications and manuscript material on a diverse range of subjects.
The music material contained within the Russian Imperial Collection, numbering approximately 150 titles, is primarily held within the collections of the Library’s Music Division, with a handful of titles held in the Library’s Rare Book and Special Collections Division. This material is diverse in nature, ranging from smaller scale works of chamber music to full scores of operas, and encompassing liturgical music, folk song and military music.
The Library of Congress presents the National Jukebox, which makes historical sound recordings available to the public free of charge. The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress Packard Campus for Audio Visual Conservation and other contributing libraries and archives.