Skip to Main Content
Fri Jun 06 2025: 
DBU Library 7:00am – 10:00pm
Book A Librarian –
North Campus Library Assistance –

Literature

Browse our best resources, organized by subject

Showing 32 Databases

Additional Databases
20th Century Poetry Presents the poems of over 580 English and American poets of the 20th century in full text, plus biographical and critical information for each poet represented.
Book Review Digest Plus Brings together book reviews on a wide range of topics, from a variety of sources. Unlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open Internet, many of these reviews are serious, academic works.
Classical Dictionary Covers all aspects of the classical world from literature and history to religion, science, and archaeology. As well as providing factual information, it contains many thematic entries on subjects relevant to the 21st century such as nationalism, race, gender, and ecology.
Companion to Chaucer Information on Chaucer's life and times, his works and the characteristics of them, his language and meter, and his major moral and literary themes, as well as the development of critical opinion about his works
Companion to English Literature All aspects of English literature ― from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, American literature, European history and culture, post-colonial literature, and popular genres such as children's literature, science fiction, biography, crime fiction, fantasy, and travel literature.
Companion to Shakespeare From Shakespeare's favorite figures of speech to the staging of Othello in South Africa, this is a lucid, stimulating, and authoritative guide to Shakespeare's plays and poems, and their interpretation around the world. Special feature entries on every play are included.
Companion to Twentieth Century Literature in English This reference work examines English-language writers and writing throughout the twentieth century, in all major genres and from all around the world. Fiction, plays, poetry, and a whole range of non-fictional writings are explored, along with literary movements in modern and post-modern English literature.
Concise Companion to African American Literature Presents more than 400 biographies of authors, critics, literary characters, and historical figures, as well as plot summaries of major works. Icons of black culture are addressed, and general articles on literary genres and other related topics are also included.
Dictionary of Phrase and Fable Explores the stories behind names and sayings that can be found in classic literature or today's news. Covers a range of topics, such as classical and other mythologies, history, religion, folk customs, superstitions, and popular culture.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece & Rome Offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century BC.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment Covering the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815, these 700 articles range from discussions of mercantilism and democracy to the dissemination of ideas in salons and coffeehouses.
Encyclopedia of the Reformation Provides information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.
Essay and General Literature Index This unique database can help you find individual essays and other works contained in collections and anthologies, published yearly in the United States, Great Britain, and Canada.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) In the past you had to visit the library in order to use the reference materials available there, but now these resources are available to you—online and searchable—from the comfort of your home, 24/7. The GVRL provides access to general encyclopedias as well as specialized reference materials.
Humanities Full Text Provides feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. 
Featured
JSTOR JSTOR's trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly items provides a wide range of content in more than 50 disciplines.
JSTOR Open Access eBooks More than 3,000 Open Access ebooks are now available at no cost to libraries or users. Top publishers such as the University of California Press, Cornell University Press, and Brill have contributed titles. These titles reflect JSTOR’s high standards for quality content and are freely available for anyone in the world to use. Users won’t need to register or log in, and there are no DRM restrictions or limits on chapter PDF downloads or printing.
MAS Complete Designed specifically for high school libraries, MAS Complete is a full-text database providing hundreds of popular high school magazines and reference books. Covering subjects such art, history, sports and music, it also includes thousands of biographies and primary source documents, plus over a million photos, maps and flags.
MasterFILE Complete MasterFILE Complete offers the largest collection of popular full-text magazines, reference books and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers. Covering virtually every general interest subject area, it also includes an extensive collection of photos, maps and flags.
Play Index Covers over 31,000 classic and historical plays dating from 1949, including one-act plays, pageants, plays in verse, radio and television plays, classic drama and monologues from famous playwrights.
ProQuest Ebook Central ProQuest Ebook Central offers authoritative ebooks in a wide range of subject areas, along with powerful tools to help you find, use, and manage the information you need.
Referencia Latina This full-text Spanish-language database covers a broad array of subjects inside and outside academia. It offers content from a variety of sources, including reference books, general interest magazines and health reports.
Salem Press: Critical Insights Articles of literary criticism and analysis from the publisher of the famous Magill Books series. Topics include Authors: Flaubert, Bolaño, & Henry James; Works: Beloved, & The Canterbury Tales; Themes: Family, The Hero’s Quest, the Harlem Renaissance, & Contemporary Immigrant Short Fiction.
Short Story Index This database indexes all the short stories that are published in collections and anthologies each year, and covers all literary genres.
Teaching Books TeachingBooks.net is an easy-to-use website that adds a multimedia dimension to the reading experiences of children's and young adult books. It includes thousands of resources about fiction and nonfiction books used in the K–12 environment, with every resource selected to encourage the integration of multimedia author and book materials into reading and library activities.

No blog posts have been assigned to this subject.

Search

Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.

Literature Experts

Director of Distance Learning Library Services

title
Loading...