Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
1001 Inventions: The Enduring Legacy of Muslim Civilization by
1001 Inventions: The Enduring Legacy of Muslim Civilization takes readers on a journey through years of forgotten Islamic history to discover one thousand fascinating scientific and technological inventions still being used throughout the world today. Take a look at all of the discoveries that led to the great technological advances of our time; engineering, early medicinal practices, and the origins of cartography are just a few of the areas explored in this book.
Palgrave Key Concepts: Key Concepts in Innovation by
A comprehensive glossary providing clear explanations of the major terms in the field of innovation, covering areas such as product development, design and creativity. By simplifying complex terminology and highlighting key debates, this book is an ideal companion for both students and practitioners in the field.
World Development Report 2019 : The Changing Nature of Work
Work is constantly reshaped by technological progress. New ways of production are adopted, markets expand, and societies evolve. But some changes provoke more attention than others, in part due to the vast uncertainty involved in making predictions about the future. The 2019 World Development Report looks at how the nature of work is changing as a result of advances in technology today.
Computers & Electronics
3D A-to-Z: An Encyclopedic Dictionary
This encyclopedic dictionary offers information on the art and science of stereoscopic 3D, including still and moving images; film and digital image acquisition; production, post-production, distribution, and exhibition; and human visual perception.
100 Ideas that Changed the Web
This innovative title looks at the history of the Web from its early roots in the research projects of the US government to the interactive online world we know and use today.
BCS Glossary of Computing and ICT
Written in an easily accessible style, this unrivaled study aid and reference tool is specifically designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used, including GCSE, A-Level, ECDL and 14-19 Diplomas in Functional Skills in schools and further education colleges.
Computer: A History of the Information Machine by
This book traces the history of the computer and shows how business and government were the first to explore its unlimited, information-processing potential. This third edition provides updated analysis on software and computer networking, including new material on the programming profession, social networking, and mobile computing. It expands its focus on the IT industry with fresh discussion on the rise of Google and Facebook as well as how powerful applications are changing the way we work, consume, learn, and socialize.
Dictionary of Computing by
The Dictionary of Computing provides coverage of the terms used in computing, including hardware, software, programme languages, networks and applications, e-commerce and the Internet.
Data, Information, and Knowledge Management
An Introduction to Information Design by
This invaluable guide provides a creative, informative, and practical introduction to the general principles of information design. With chapters on understanding the audience, structure, legibility and readability, selection of media, experimentation, and multi-platform delivery, An Introduction to Information Design gives a complete overview of this fundamental aspect of visual communication.
Media & Communications
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications
Explores the ways that editorial content--from journalism and scholarship to films and infomercials--is developed, presented, stored, analyzed, and regulated around the world. For readers and researchers of all levels, the Encyclopedia provides perspective and context about content, delivery systems, and their myriad relationships, as well as clearly drawn avenues for further research.
Science & Medicine
National Geographic Science of Everything by
National Geographic answers all the questions about how things work--the science, technology, biology, chemistry, physics, and mechanics--in an indispensible book that reveals the science behind virtually everything.
The Big Idea: How Breakthroughs of the Past Shape the Future by
Ingeniously organized and eminently browsable, this richly visual volume is divided into six big sections--medicine, transportation, communication, biology, chemistry, and the environment. This remarkable depiction of history tells the story of every Big Idea in our history, seen through the lens of where science is taking us today--and tomorrow.
The Penguin Dictionary of Science
A fourth, meticulously updated and revised edition of the comprehensive and renowned Penguin Dictionary of Science. The Penguin Dictionary of Science covers all the important topics in this key subject area including chemistry, physics, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, human anatomy, mathematics, astronomy and computing. Superbly comprehensive and accessible, this newly updated dictionary is the ideal reference tool for anyone who needs to understand scientific terms, whether student, researcher or enthusiastic layperson.
Architecture & Engineering
Dictionary of Architecture and Construction
Provides comprehensive definitions of architecture spanning from classical architecture and traditional building materials to green building methods and modern products. Also includes definitions on architectural styles and the particulars of specifications writing.
Manufacturing Engineering Handbook by
This thoroughly updated resource offers complete details on traditional, advanced, and emerging manufacturing engineering processes. All new topics include cloud computing, Internet of Things, 3D printing, nano manufacturing and advanced manufacturing, and operations research.
Dictionary of Industrial Terms by
This is the most comprehensive dictionary of maintenance and reliability terms ever compiled, covering the process, manufacturing, and other related industries, every major area of engineering used in industry, and more. The entries are all alphabetically arranged and include special features to encourage usage and understanding. They are supplemented by hundreds of figures and tables that clearly demonstrate the principles & concepts behind important process control, instrumentation, reliability, machinery, asset management, lubrication, corrosion, and much much more.
Defining Digital Humanities by
Publication Date: 2013-12-23
This reader brings together, for the first time, in one core volume the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities. Chapters provide a historical overview of how the term 'Humanities Computing' developed into the term 'Digital Humanities', and highlight core readings which explore the meaning, scope, and implementation of the field.