World Religions by Credo Reference: Ancient Religions

From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
The Celts were a warrior people—their name means ‘fighters’—who appeared in Eastern Europe in the second millennium BCE and swept West and South, even sacking Rome in 386 BCE.

From Bloomsbury Dictionary of Myth
Like everything else about ancient Egypt, the nature of the country's myths, and of the religion and society they sustained, was dictated by two factors above all others: geography and enormous, unbroken stretches of time.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Pre-Christian religious practices among the tribes of Western Europe, Germany, and Scandinavia.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
The religion of ancient Greece from the 8th to the 3rd century BC, with a well-defined pantheon of deities including the supreme ruler Zeus; his consort Hera; Athena, the goddess of wisdom; Hermes, the god of war; and many others, who lived on Mount Olympus and were closely inter-related.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
The religious beliefs and practices of the people of ancient Rome. The spirits were held in awe and were placated with offerings and prayers.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Religion of the Sumerian civilization. Sumerian society was ruled by gods - everything belonged to the gods and the kings were their representatives.

The Acropolis of Athens was a ceremonial site beginning in the Neolithic Period.

Europe's largest stone circle (diameter 412 m/1,350 ft), in Wiltshire, England. This megalithic henge monument is thought to be part of a ritual complex.

From Chamber's Dictionary of the Unexplained
The pyramids of Egypt were built around 2000 bc as royal tombs on a gigantic scale – it has been calculated that the largest of them, the great pyramid, was originally 147 metres (481 feet) high.

From Dictionary of Classical Mythology
The highest mountain in Greece, almost 10,000 feet high and situated on and around the borders of Macedonia and Thessaly. From early times Olympus was believed to be the home of the gods ruled over by ZEUS, thus giving them their familiar name of the Olympian gods.

Temple sacred to Athena, on the acropolis at Athens.

Megalithic monument on Salisbury Plain, 3 km/1.9 mi west of Amesbury in Wiltshire, England.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Form of temple common to the Sumerians, Babylonians and Assyrians. The earliest examples date from the end of the 3d millenium B.C., the latest from the 6th century B.C.