British History by Credo Reference: Books

A richly fascinating and browsable 'heritage tour' of places and place-names in Britain and Ireland.

A comprehensive A-Z guide to the history of Britain and its peoples packed full of detail on everything from Hadrian's Wall to the Plague to Tony Blair.

Entries by more than 200 authorities covering all of British literature.

Covers the history of Britain from Roman times to the present day, and also its overseas territories during British Rule.

Contains A-Z entries on the history of Britain, from ancient and Roman Britain to the present day. Each entry lists 6-12 of the best-known books on the subject, then discusses those works in an essay of 800 to 1,000 words prepared by an expert in the field.

A comprehensive resource for topics related to Wales ranging from Snowdonia to the pampas of Patagonia, the ancient bards to the super-modern Super Furry Animals, folk heroes to Welsh Olympians, and the men and women of Wales who have excelled in art, culture, commerce and politics.

Providing a broad narrative and relating the central events that have shaped the country, A Brief History of Ireland touches on all aspects of Ireland's history, including political, economic, cultural, social, and foreign affairs. Recounting this country's long history, from the arrival of the Celts to recent economic developments that have brought booming prosperity and social change.

A Brief History of Great Britain narrates the history of Great Britain from the earliest times to the 21st century, covering the entire island -- England, Wales, and Scotland -- as well as associated archipelagos such as the Channel Islands, the Orkneys, and Ireland as they have influenced British history. The central story of this volume is the development of the British kingdom, including its rise and decline on the world stage.

Debrett's People of Today is a comprehensive study of contemporary Britain's most notable and successful people. It contains biographical details of people from the entire spectrum of British society, including Tony Blair, Paula Radcliffe and Benjamin Zephaniah. The selection of entrants is made by the editorial staff of Debrett's and entries are reviewed annually to ensure accuracy and relevance. Entries include details of career, education, family, recreations and membership of clubs as well as contact addresses. An additional feature is the correct style of address to be used when addressing correspondence to an entrant.

The most comprehensive volume of its kind, Gray's Dictionary of British Women Artists offers extensively-researched biographies of some of the most significant female contributors to British art. This volume makes a valuable contribution to the study of art history.

A multicultural biographical source that covers notable individuals from every part of the world and from all time periods who have made significant contributions to human culture.

Gale biographies are engaging for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people.

Collects Times obituaries of notable 20th-century figures.

Brings together obituaries from the Times of John Thadeus Delane (1841-77) and his successors, and shows how some of the leading personalities of the 19th century were viewed by a paper that was itself one of the defining institutions of the age.

This is a fully revised and extended edition of a highly regarded reference work that illuminates the lives of Scottish women in history. With fascinating lives on every page, the Dictionary offers concise entries that illustrate the lives of Scottish women from the distant past to the early twenty-first century, as well as the worldwide Scottish diaspora.

Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities available under alphabetically arranged headword entries. Coverage extends across every continent and every century of history. The entries have been prepared by professional historians, and Jeremy Black, Professor of History at the University of Exeter, has acted as academic consultant.

Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.

British content in this title
Articles present academic rigor, analysis and research on topics happening around the globe.

A comprehensive chronology of entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000.

A chronology of world history through March 2018.

From the first civilizations to the 21st century this wide-ranging, compulsively readable book encompasses all of world history: great ages and monumental events; the rise and fall of cultures; names, dates, and statistics, and stories galore.

The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.