Skip to main content

Distance Learners Library Guide: Find Articles

This guide explains the library services available to DBU's distance learners - either online students or students at our satellite locations

Did You Know?

Catalog or database?

Our catalog allows you to search across multiple databases all at once.

Benefits:

  • the search will yield results from many sources
  • you don't have to select a database to get started.

Disadvantages:

  • fewer options for focusing your results
  • sheer number of results may be overwhelming

Our A-Z databases page allows you to choose the database you wish to search.

Benefits:

  • more options to control and narrow your search
  • some databases dedicated specifically to certain topics

Disadvantages:

  • you may not know which database to choose, but
  • you can use the Subjects drop-down list to help you decide, or
  • you can choose one of the "Popular" database options

Find Articles from Journals, Magazines, etc.

There are two ways to search for articles from journals, magazines, and other sources.  You can:

  • Choose a database to search by using the new A-Z Databases list,  OR
  • utilize the library catalog.

See the instructions below.

Find Articles Using the "A-Z Databases" page

  1. Start on the A-Z Databases page.
  2. You have several options: Choose one of the "Popular" databases from the special list; or
  3. Use the alphabetical listing if you know the name of the database you want; or
  4. Choose a subject from the drop-down list, then select from the list of databases chosen for that subject.
  5. If prompted, submit your DBU username and password, and log in.
  6. Type your search term(s) in the empty text boxes provided.
  7. Place any limitations you want on your search -- full-text only, certain year or span of years, peer-reviewed only, etc. Different databases have different options.
  8. Click Search.
  9. Full-text articles will have a link for opening the file -- usually in PDF format.  You can read, download, print out, or even email the article.
  10. If you find an article that is not available in full text, check our library catalog to see if we have a subscription to that journal. If we do, fill out a Distance Ed Article Request Form and we will mail or fax a copy of the article to you. (Make sure the article is not available online before you use this form.)
  11. If we don't have a subscription to that source, you can use our Interlibrary Loan service to get the article from another library.  See the ILL tab above.

Find Articles Using the Library Catalog

  1. Start on the catalog search page.
  2. Type your search term(s) into the empty box.
  3. Click Search.
  4. Check the box for "Articles" in the Format box on the left.
  5. You can limit your results by using options in the toolbar - by year, by type, or peer-reviewed only.
  6. Click on the "View Now" link for the article you want. 
  7. Some articles may appear in more than one database. It usually doesn't matter which "View full text" link you choose.
  8. Information about the article will be displayed. Look for a "Full Text" icon or link to open and view the article.

Distance Learning Librarian

Debbi Richard's picture
Debbi Richard
Contact:
Dallas Baptist University
3000 Mountain Creek Pkwy
Dallas, TX 75211
214-333-5225 or 800-483-7048
Website / Blog Page