Psychology by Credo Reference: Mental Health

Any of a wide range of drugs used to treat psychic depression. They are given to elevate mood, counter suicidal thoughts, and increase the effectiveness of psychotherapy.

“‘ I could draw it,’ a dreamer often says to us, ‘but I don’t know how to say it.’” So said Sigmund Freud (1963, p. 90). Considering that Freud regarded dreams to be “the royal road to the unconscious,” it is surprising that he did not ask his patients to do so.

CBT is an extremely successful and popular method of psychotherapy, loosely based on cognitive principles.

In an early attempt to define counseling, the Society of Counseling Psychology, which is Division 17 of the American Psychological Association, described counseling as a process of “helping individuals toward overcoming obstacles to personal growth, wherever these may be encountered, and toward achieving optimum development of personal resources”

A crisis is a collapse in one’s ability to solve problems or cope with a situation in which the person’s existing strategies for coping do not work.

Any of a range of substances, natural or synthetic, administered to humans and animals as therapeutic agents: to diagnose, prevent, or treat disease, or to assist recovery from injury.

Efforts to categorize and describe “madness” date back to ancient Greece; however, interest in psychiatric categorization has intensified since the turn of the twentieth century.

In psychiatry, treatment of mood disorders by means of electricity; the broader term is "shock therapy.

From The Concise Corsini encyclopedia of psychology and behavioral science
Gestalt therapy is an existential and phenomenological approach, emphasizing the principles of present-centered awareness and immediate experience.

A means of changing behavior and emotional patterns, based on the premise that much of human behavior and feeling involves the individual's adaptation and response to other people.

[Gr.,=putting to sleep], to induce an altered state of consciousness characterized by deep relaxation and heightened suggestibility.

Problems in marriage and other close relationships are widespread. For example, the divorce rate in the United States is approximately 50%. Relationship problems are also among the most common reasons for people seeking mental health services.

Music affects people emotionally, physically, and aesthetically, and these responses provide the basis for the use of music in therapy.

Pharmacology is the science and practice of developing and administering chemicals as agents in the treatment of diseases.

Name given by Sigmund Freud to a system of interpretation and therapeutic treatment of psychological disorders.

Any of a variety of testing procedures for measuring psychological traits and behavior, or for studying some specialized aspect of ability.

In its broadest sense, the study of all pharmacological agents that affect mental and emotional functions.

Treatment of mental and emotional disorders using psychological methods. Psychotherapy, thus, does not include physiological interventions.

Whether one is talking about the latest actor, politician, or average person, the term rehabilitation is likely to pop up in casual conversation.

From Encyclopedia of Special Education
The purpose of the Child Behavior Checklist is to quickly collect standardized ratings on a broad spectrum of competencies and problems for children aged 6 to 18 years.

From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The Beck Depression Inventory-II (BDI-II; Beck, Steer, & Brown, 1996) is a 21-item self-report instrument for measuring the severity of depression in adolescents and adults according to symptoms corresponding to the criteria for diagnosing major depressive disorders.

From Encyclopedia of Special Education
The Burks’ Behavior Rating Scales (BBRS), Preschool and Kindergarten Form and Grades One–Nine Form, are rating inventories used to identify the type and severity of problem behaviors exhibited by referred children ages 2 to 15.

Test that attempts to measure innate intellectual ability, rather than acquired ability.

The Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) is a widely used personality inventory (test) employed in vocational, educational, and psychotherapy settings. MBTI is used to evaluate personality type in adolescents and adults age 14 and older.

Any of a variety of testing procedures for measuring psychological traits and behavior, or for studying some specialized aspect of ability.

From The Concise Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
The field of psychometrics generally considers quantitative psychological data. Such data normally emerges from test responses, although it may come from other measures.

From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
The grandfather of all projective tests, designed and developed by the Swiss psychiatrist Hermann Rorschach. The administration of the test consists of a structured interview using a series of ten standardized, bilaterally symmetrical inkblots.

From The Professional Counselor's Desk Reference
Counseling involves a professional relationship that empowers diverse individuals, families, and groups to accomplish mental health, wellness, education, and career goals

From Encyclopedia of Applied Psychology
Developmental counseling is a collaborative and catalytic relationship formed between a professional counselor, who is trained in both counseling and human development, and a client, who is currently experiencing or is expected to experience problems that impede progress toward mastering personally and/or culturally valued functions.

From Encyclopedia of Special Education: A Reference for the Education of the Handicapped and Other Exceptional Children and Adults
The past two decades have been a period of significant professional growth for pediatric psychology. In general, the number of psychologists in medical settings has increased rapidly and the scope of their activities has widened enormously.

From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
A person trained in medicine who specializes in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional disorders.

From The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology
Determining to just whom this term applies is no simple matter. The difficulties stem from the fact that some who claim it do so because they practise psychology, others because they apply it, others because they teach it and still others because they research it.

From Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Psychology
A person who professes to carry out psychological treatments according to a particular theoretical model (as in psychodynamic psychotherapist, behavioural psychotherapist, etc.).

Organized effort to help individuals and families to adjust themselves to the community, as well as to adapt the community to the needs of such persons and families.

From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $77,030 per year, $37.03 per hour

From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $55,410 per year, $26.64 per hour

From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $48,790 per year, $23.45 per hour

From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $47,680 per year, $22.92 per hour

From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $43,300 per year, $20.82 per hour

From Occupational Outlook Handbook
Median Pay: $29,330 per year, $14.10 per hour