Psychology by Credo Reference: Books

In a journey spanning 50 books, hundreds of ideas and over a century, 50 Psychology Classics looks at some of the most intriguing questions relating to what motivates us, what makes us feel and act in certain ways, how our brains work, and how we create a sense of self.

Clearly explaining more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the field, The Psychology Book uses accessible text and easy-to-follow graphics and illustrations to explain the complex theoretical and experimental foundations of psychology.

Provides biographical information and critical analysis of the influences and reception of people who have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology.

Provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of psychology, from Acquired Drives to Z-score, from conduct disorders to shamanism.

The dictionary contains terms covering the origination, development, and evolution of various psychological concepts, as well as the historical definition, analysis, and criticisms of psychological concepts.

Presents entries grouped into 8 thematic topic areas, and on a range of levels from brief definitions to more substantial discussions which allow the reader to obtain a fuller grasp of important terms and concepts.

An authoritative publication that reviews and evaluates the numerous applications of professional psychology.

The Handy Psychology Answer Book seeks to inform readers with accurate data written in a lively, accessible, and engaging way. It bridges the gap by taking you on a journey through the history and science of psychology and showing how psychology affects us all.

Contributes to understanding the classic scholars, the classic studies, and the subsequent generations of people and ideas that have come to define the broad discipline that is psychology.

This updated edition explores the latest developments in psychology, psychiatry and related fields, including new material on neuroscience and social psychology.

The second edition offers a unique interdisciplinary approach inclusive across all counseling disciplines and features contributions from over 110 highly regarded experts in counselor education, research, and practice.

Psychological first aid, or PFA, is designed to mitigate the effects of acute stress and trauma and assist those in crisis to cope effectively with adversity. The Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid is the first book to thoroughly explain RAPID PFA. RAPID, a unique theoretically grounded and evidence-based PFA method, follows a set of easily understood principles.

This book describes the scientific study of psychological disorders. As well as detailing mental disorders, it examines social attitudes toward them and treatments that have been used through the centuries. Other important issues covered include the way in which the number and type of recognized mental disorders constantly changes, and how psychological difficulties affect a child's learning and social experiences.

This book discusses the nature of developmental change from conception to adulthood. It considers the most important theories of cognitive development and examines the ingenious methods developed to measure cognitive abilities in young children. It also investigates perceptual, emotional, social, and memory development.

This book explores the development of psychology, from its roots in philosophy and natural science to the scientific research of the 19th century. It also charts the emergence and impact of experimental psychology and the development of psychological theories throughout the 20th century.

This book explores the workings of the brain, including its ability to identify and interpret important information while discarding other sensory input, and how it stores and retrieves memories. It investigates past and present theories of learning, how we develop language skills and process language, problem solving, and the sources of creativity and inspiration.

This book looks at how our understanding of the brain and mind has developed. It describes in detail the workings of the brain, and investigates how our perceptual systems and the brain work to interpret the sensations we experience. The concept of mind and consciousness, and the role that emotions play in both mental health and our everyday lives, are also discussed in detail.

This book examines people as individuals and as social animals. It analyzes the notions of personality and intelligence and considers how people relate to and communicate with each other and society. The chapters discuss the types of social interaction and the rules that guide them, as well as the feelings and thoughts that individuals have about society, social situations, and the people around them.

Depression, often referred to as the "common cold of psychopathology," is among the most prevalent psychiatric conditions, yet it remains challenging to understand and treat. Depression 101 provides a reader-friendly overview of unipolar and bilpolar depression and provides the most current and intriguing scientific knowledge on this topic.

This is a concise and student-friendly survey of the burgeoning field of evolutionary psychology (EP) and the controversies that surround it.

Intelligence has been among the most controversial constructs in all of the social sciences, from its origin as a concept a thousand years ago by such thinkers as Aristotle, Socrates, and Plato to the present. The answer to the question "What is intelligence?" has tremendous implications for how we view the relationships between mind, education, and society.

The book critically examines research from cognitive, social, developmental, biological, and evolutionary approaches to psychology and addresses the interplay between media consumption and viewer behavior in such realms as advertising, body image, sex, and violence.

This highly readable foundational text provides an overview of the theories and research on human memory from a psychological perspective.

Written by a highly respected scholar and educator of positive psychology, this is a concise, accessible introduction to this popular field of study.

The text discusses theoretical models underlying geropsychology, and examines common difficulties that affect older adults along with the most effective treatment approaches for this population. With a focus on the strengths and functions of older adults, the text examines the unique psychological problems of later life and conflicts caused by retirement, living longer, financial stressors, and chronic illness.

This incisive text provides a comprehensive tour of both classic and contemporary theories and research on the how and why of human love.

An authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting. It also looks at cultural issues, sex differences and the history of child development.

This book is a definitive reference source for the growing, increasingly more important, and interdisciplinary field of computational cognitive modeling, that is, computational psychology.

Provides a comprehensive survey of the exciting field of consciousness.

In this updated and expanded edition of The Cambridge Handbook of Expertise and Expert Performance, some of the world's foremost experts on expertise share their scientific knowledge of expertise and expert performance and show how experts may differ from non-experts in terms of development, training, reasoning, knowledge, and social support. The book reviews innovative methods for measuring experts' knowledge and performance in relevant tasks.

With the field of personal relationships having grown dramatically in the past quarter century, this volume serves as a benchmark of the current state of scholarship, synthesizing the extant theoretical and empirical literature, tracing its historical roots, and making recommendations for future directions.

Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

A valuable reference resource dedicated to improving our understanding of the economic mind and economic behaviour.

An international overview of the state of our contemporary knowledge in sociocultural psychology - as a discipline located at the crossroads between the natural and social sciences and the humanities.

Contains authoritative entries on all the most important authors, practitioners, concepts, movements, schools, debates and controversies in psychoanalysis and its offspring, past and present.

Captures current thinking about the workings of the mind and brain, focusing on problems that are as old as recorded history, but reflecting new approaches and techniques that have emerged since the 1980s.

Encompasses a summary of major research and scientific thought regarding the nature of consciousness, the neural circuitry involved, how the brain, body, and world interact, and our understanding of subjective states.

Provides a comprehensive review and critical synthesis of significant theory; a unique cross-national perspective; significant contributions from scholars working in related fields; an increased focus on empirically supported scholarship; and is arranged for quick and easy reference.

This book serves as a guide to the principal concepts currently in use in Developmental Psychology and is perfect for courses in child development or developmental psychology.

Aims to provide the reader with a comprehensive understanding of the key issues, theories, models, and methods in contemporary health psychology.

Motivation 101 is unique in helping readers understand how each theory of motivation and behavioral, neurobiological, attribution, and other models and views and defines a particular concept within each theory.

The Quotable Jung presents hundreds of the most representative selections from the vast array of Jungs books, essays, correspondence, lectures, seminars, and interviews, as well as the celebrated Red Book, in which Jung describes his own fearsome confrontation with the unconscious.

The concise and authoritative entries have been selected by experienced teachers and researchers; each one defines, explains and develops a key topic in sport psychology acting as a springboard for further reading and debate.

From a team of leading experts comes a comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the most current research including the complex issue of violence and violent behavior.

Provides in-depth coverage of theoretical, research, and clinical positions in psychopathology.

Entries (of between 500 and 1500 words) on key terms and concepts in forensic psychology arranged alphabetically.

Comprehensive in scope, The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors covers many common addictions, including alcoholism, gambling, and OxyContin, as well as their relating behaviors.

Provides coverage on topics critical to understanding depression, such as the history of the disease, research, treatment options, and the role of various mental health professionals in addressing the condition.

This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders. Each entry follows a 5 section structure that will cover (1) essential features of the disorder (2) physiological basis of the disorder (3) neuropsychological and other clinical presentation (4) assessment and diagnostic practices (5) evidence-based treatments and interventions.

Presents hundreds of articles on eating disorders and obesity, including causes, symptoms, and treatment options.

Entries offer information on the causes, history, and psychology of suicide and includes coverage of current research and listings of associations and crisis centers.

Provides professionals with current, practical, and empirically based information to guide their work in forensic settings.

This encyclopedia distills an amazing amount of information into a book that is easy to read and navigate .This would serve as a great reference for anyone with an interest in depression.

Opinions Throughout History: Drug Abuse & Drug Epidemics explores the origins and impacts of what many experts now call a pandemic of opioid abuse in America. With commentary from public heath experts and the inclusion of more than 30 primary sources, Drug Abuse and Drug Epidemics also explores the origins, costs, and sharply polarized opinions regarding the decades old war on drugs, including discussion of opinions related to disparities in drug law convictions and punishments, and the effects of mass criminalization.

Key Concepts in Learning Disabilities is a handy guide to the topics you need to know about whether studying or working in the field of learning disabilities. The A-Z format allows you to "dip in" and quickly find relevant information on topics ranging from Autism to Rights and from Advocacy to Challenging Behaviors.