Native American Studies by Credo Reference: Individuals

Mohawk chief, Anglican missionary, and British military officer during the American Revolution.

Native American chief; He was born in the Creek country now within the borders of the state of Alabama, the son of Lachlan McGillivray, a Scots trader, and Sehoy Marchand, his French-Creek wife.

From Encyclopedia of North American Indians, Houghton Mifflin
Sauk war leader and spokesman.

Leader of a Chiricahua group of the Apaches.

From Encyclopedia of North American Indians, Houghton Mifflin
Legendary Mohawk founder of the Iroquois Confederacy.

Daughter of Wahunsonacook, headman of the Algonquian-speaking Powhatan Confederacy of Tidewater Virginia; mythologized in American literature as an Indian princess and epitomized in Vachel Lindsay’s poem Our Mother Pocahontas as “the mother of us all.”

From The Reader's Companion to American History
Ottawa Indian chief.

Ancient deity and legendary ruler of the Toltec in Mexico.

From Encyclopedia of American Studies The Shoshone woman who accompanied Meriwether Lewis and William Clark on their journey to the western shores of North America.

Native North American leader, creator of the Cherokee syllabary.

From Encyclopedia of North American Indians, Houghton Mifflin
Hunkpapa military, religious, and political leader.

Chief of the Shawnee, b. probably in Clark co., Ohio. Tecumseh set out to bind together the Native Americans of the Old Northwest, the South, and the eastern Mississippi valley.

American photographer and pioneer ethnographer known for his documentation of Native Americans.

US general; died in defeat at the battle with the Sioux at Little Bighorn.

American theologian and metaphysician; At Stockbridge, Mass., where he went to care for the Native American mission and to minister to a small white congregation, he completed his theological masterpiece, The Freedom of the Will.

English missionary in colonial Massachusetts, called the Apostle to the Indians.

7th President of the United States; In the War of 1812 Jackson defeated the Creek warriors, tacit allies of the British, at Horseshoe Bend, Ala. (Mar., 1814) after a strenuous campaign and won the rank of major general in the U.S. army.

Penn became involved in the affairs of the American colonies when in 1675 he was appointed a trustee for Edward Byllynge, one of the two Quaker proprietors of West Jersey. He also established the friendly relations with the Native Americans that were to distinguish the early history of Pennsylvania.

From Encyclopedia of American Studies
The over 550 indigenous cultures of North America, consisting of ten language groups and almost three hundred languages, have produced a rich and diverse literature.

From The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English
Native American poet, critic and novelist concerned with the re-establishment of the importance of women in Native American tradition.

From Continuum Encyclopedia of American Literature
Erdrich's works reveal the tension between the Native American people and the white race that threatens the destruction of Chippewa culture and heritage and the conflicts between family members within the Native American world.

From Encyclopedia of Life Writing: Autobiographical and Biographical Forms
The son of a poet-mother (part Cherokee) and a painterfather (Kiowa), Momaday is known primarily as a writer but he is also an accomplished painter.

From The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story
Simon Ortiz’s life and writing center on Acoma, New Mexico. The stark southwestern landscape and the open skies form the backdrop for the culture and perspective of the Pueblo people whose agricultural acumen and stable sociopolitical structure have endured for centuries

From The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story
“I grew up at Laguna Pueblo,” wrote Leslie Silko in Kenneth Rosen’s 1974 collection of contemporary American Indian short stories, The Man to Send Rain Clouds, where six of her early stories were published.