Music by Credo Reference: Books

A guide to the thousands of characters, from humble artisan to lofty genius, who people the unfolding history of music, this volume brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today.

Wide ranging and reliable, this treasure trove includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.

Succinct and comprehensive guide to the history, forms, and personalities of classical music. Readers will find biographies of thousands of composers from Albinoni to Zappa, with in-depth treatment of major figures, coverage of individual works, including plot summaries of operas and ballets, articles on the history of music and instruments, entries on musical forms, from medieval plainchant to contemporary minimalism, and clear definitions of technical terms and jargon.

Fully cross referenced, this dictionary is an authoritative source for researchers, musicologists, professional musicians, teachers and students of music, and educated members of the public.

Defining more than 10,000 words and phrases from everyday slang to technical terms and concepts, this dictionary of the audiovisual language embraces more than 50 subject areas within film, television, and home entertainment.

This reader brings together, for the first time, in one core volume the essential readings that have emerged in Digital Humanities. Chapters provide a historical overview of how the term 'Humanities Computing' developed into the term 'Digital Humanities', and highlight core readings which explore the meaning, scope, and implementation of the field.

Technical descriptions plus illustrations and further reading, arranged alphabetically, most on individual objects, artifacts, techniques, and products.

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Digital Media is the first comprehensive reference work to which teachers, students, and the curious can quickly turn for reliable information on the key terms and concepts of the field.

Provides a comprehensive, easy-to-use introduction to the field of radio studies.

This book covers the key concepts central to understanding recent developments in media and communications studies. Wide-ranging in scope and accessible in style it sets out a useful, clear map of the important theories, methods, and debates.

Covering bebop to western swing by way of psychedelic rock, Phil Hardy's indispensable book maps out a stimulating and informative cultural history of the century in popular music.

From John Philip Sousa to Green Day, from Scott Joplin to Kanye West, from Stephen Foster to Coldplay, The Encyclopedia of Great Popular Song Recordings covers the vast scope of its subject with virtually unprecedented breadth and depth. Approximately 1,000 key song recordings from 1889 to the present are explored in full, unveiling the stories behind the songs, the recordings, the performers, and the songwriters.

An introduction to four hundred years of opera and its composers with recommended key recordings for the key opera singers.

Covers the key concepts, arguments, problems and figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art.

Offers a wealth of information on the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world. Written by a team of international experts, it clearly depicts the dynamic interaction of performance traditions from all cultures in present-day theatre. While saluting the history and traditions of 'high' art in the theatre, the Guide also celebrates the importance of 'low' art: the energy and animation that has infused popular theatre and popular entertainment for thousands of years

Terms related to leisure, travel and tourism, ranging from hotels, catering, restaurants and customer service to general business, accounting and personnel concepts.

This is the first full length dictionary of Leisure Studies. It examines the key concepts, assesses the work of central figures, and helps students zero-in on essential issues and conceptual distinctions.

Provides a student-friendly guide to the key debates in leisure studies.

This source concisely sums up the knowledge that matters to Americans - the people, places, ideas, and events that shape our cultural conversation.