Medicine & Public Health by Credo Reference: Books

Ask the Doctor questions answered by Harvard Medical School faculty members.

Offers an entirely up-to-date, comprehensive, accessible, one-stop resource for clinical psychologists, mental health professionals and specialists in health-related matters.

An interdisciplinary history of medicine and human disease.

Commentaries written by Harvard physicians on the questions that people face every day related to fitness, nutrition, parenting, heart health, mental health, men's and women's health.

Single-topic, in-depth reports from Harvard Medical School.

In-depth descriptions of the most common diseases, symptoms, procedures, and tests written by Harvard Medical School faculty members.

Harvard Medical School Special Health Reports provide thorough insight into common conditions, diseases, and wellness issues. Each report focuses on a specific health concern and provides helpful tips for readers to further understand how to address and improve their health.

Key Concepts in Health Studies provides a much needed guide to the central concepts used across the subject, and offers the reader a comprehensive overview of the core topics, theories and debates. Drawing together the fundamentals within the disciplines of health, nursing, and social policy this book is an ideal text both for students studying health in a range of academic fields, and for health and social care practitioners.

Identifies key concepts used across the discipline of public health in order to give the reader a broad perspective of the core topics relevant to training and practice.

Opinions Throughout History: Drug Abuse & Drug Epidemics explores the origins and impacts of what many experts now call a pandemic of opioid abuse in America. With commentary from public heath experts and the inclusion of more than 30 primary sources, Drug Abuse and Drug Epidemics also explores the origins, costs, and sharply polarized opinions regarding the decades old war on drugs, including discussion of opinions related to disparities in drug law convictions and punishments, and the effects of mass criminalization.

The Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine draws on historical and international comparative research to provide a rigorous and thematic examination of the field. It argues that many popular and policy debates are stuck in a polarized and largely asocial discourse, and that interdisciplinary social science perspectives, theorising diversity in the field, provide a much more robust evidence base for policy and practice in the field.

Psychological first aid, or PFA, is designed to mitigate the effects of acute stress and trauma and assist those in crisis to cope effectively with adversity. The Johns Hopkins Guide to Psychological First Aid is the first book to thoroughly explain RAPID PFA. RAPID, a unique theoretically grounded and evidence-based PFA method, follows a set of easily understood principles.

A comprehensive reference that reflects the most recent developments in medicine and health care delivery. Clear, concise definitions are included, covering diseases and conditions, treatments, and microorganisms. Hundreds of entries for commonly prescribed and over-the-counter medications are also featured.

A reference for all who need clear explanation of medical terms: nurses, health care professionals and students, health service management, actuaries, lawyers and journalists.

A concise, up-to-date guide to the essential language of medicine. Contains More than 38,000 entries and covers the latest brand names and generic equivalents of common drugs.

A complete guide to the one organ in the body that makes each of us what we are - unique individuals.

A single source for information on the human brain covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Presenting a comprehensive and rigorously detailed overview of current research and its groundbreaking applications, this major reference work examines many peripheral topics surrounding the field such as law, ethics, medicine and public health, history, religion and industry.

Revealing and detailing all aspects of the body, from the secrets of DNA to the functions of every major body system, this all-in-one encyclopedic guide is packed with accessible health and medical information that is ideal for students, health professionals, or anyone who wants to learn more about the human body.

This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on the human body through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

The Encyclopedia of International Games captures (in one alphabetical sequence) the histories of major regional events such as the African, Asian, Arab, South Pacific, and Pan American Games; competitions such as the Indian Ocean Island Games, Arctic Winter Games, Island Games, and Games of the Small Countries of Europe; specific populations or professions such as the North American Indigenous Games, Maccabiah Games, World Military Games, World Police and Fire Games, and World Medical and Health Games; and Special Olympics, the Paralympics, games for the blind, and other regional games.

The atlas traces the emergence of sport in its modern forms, and features all established Olympic sports and sports recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) but not included in the Olympic programme, as well as sports with their own cultural and organizational base and commercial momentum.

Provides students and scholars with a fail-safe guide to the key concepts in the field of Sport and Exercise Science.

The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.

This award-winning nursing reference, meticulously researched by luminaries in the field, represents the state of the art in nursing science. Comprehensive and concise, entries provide the most relevant and current research perspectives and demonstrate the depth and breadth of nursing research today.

Provides a much needed guide to the central topics and debates which shape nursing theory, policy and contemporary practice.

A single comprehensive reference for nursing leaders, leadership organizations, nursing clinicians, and educators, Nursing Leadership is the only compendium of nursing terminology in existence. Written by eminent nursing professionals, it provides descriptions of prominent individuals in nursing, information regarding nine leadership-related topics, and current trends in nurse leadership.

This fully updated third edition of this award-winning title covers topics in body systems and functions, conditions and common diseases, contemporary health care issues and theories, techniques and practices, and devices and equipment

This A to Z reference is a definitive resource, praised especially for its coverage of topics not previously considered under the umbrella of women's health.

Informed by current health issues and health-care realities, offers readers practical information, historical aspects, and future directions, all meticulously researched and conveniently presented.

Dr. Susan Loves Breast Book has long been the bible for the newly diagnosed. In this completely revised fifth edition, it also becomes a guide for those at risk of getting breast cancer, survivors interested in the consequences of their treatment, and anyone who wants to understand the new research about how the local environment influences the manifestations and treatments of many different kinds of breast cancer.

Epilepsy A-Z is a unique compendium that provides a "bullet" of epilepsy-related information that is ideal for quick and easy reference

The Encyclopedia of Aging has proven to be the definitive resource for scholars and students across the burgeoning and increasingly interdisciplinary fields of gerontology and geriatrics.

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care is a state-of-the-art resource featuring nearly 300 articles. Topics include acute and chronic disease, home care including family-based care provisions, nursing home care, rehabilitation, health promotion, disease prevention, education, case management, social services, assisted living, advance directives, palliative care, and much more.

This book serves as an A-Z reference that addresses the neuropsychological aspects of 300 neurological, neuropsychiatric, and neuromedical disorders.

Experts from around the globe have been selected to present interdisciplinary coverage of all the essential issues related to depression, including use of medication, treatment therapies and models, symptoms of Depression, related disorders, and more. Entries are conveniently organized into subcategories in order to provide the most in-depth coverage of each subject.

Entries offer information on the causes, history, and psychology of suicide and includes coverage of current research and listings of associations and crisis centers.

Provides coverage on topics critical to understanding depression, such as the history of the disease, research, treatment options, and the role of various mental health professionals in addressing the condition.

The Encyclopedia of Autoimmune Diseases, Second Edition has been updated and expanded to provide up-to-date information about the causes, symptoms, treatments of autoimmune diseases, and the medical and social issues related to them.

An important book for people of all ages, The Encyclopedia of Men's Health, Second Edition offers a complete overview of the medical, scientific, social, and lifestyle issues that impact men's health.

Comprehensive in scope, The Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors covers many common addictions, including alcoholism, gambling, and OxyContin, as well as their relating behaviors.

Presents hundreds of articles on eating disorders and obesity, including causes, symptoms, and treatment options.

The Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health, Third Edition provides clear, concise nutritional guidance about smart eating and lifestyle choices. Updated with the latest data and statistics, this A-to-Z resource is essential for learning the basics about how food choices can help maintain optimum health and beat diseases.

For the first time, the world's experts in HIV-AIDS have come together to publish the Encyclopedia of AIDS. The work features thousands of entries, including medical, cultural, social, and pharmacological essays.

Created with a nationally recognized advisory board of medical professionals and leading figures in natural healing fields, National Geographic Complete Guide to Natural Home Remedies covers topics ranging from the familiar to the new and promising: from mint tea for a stomachache to onion juice for a bee sting, from using baking soda as a kitchen cleanser to finding quiet in a crowded world, from adding turmeric to fight arthritis to practicing aromatherapy at home.

The Routledge Handbook of Complementary and Alternative Medicine draws on historical and international comparative research to provide a rigorous and thematic examination of the field.