Latin American Studies by Credo Reference: Books

This companion gives a concise and accessible overview of Hispanic Studies as taught today and suggests new directions for future developments.

Covering all the possible topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book situates Latin America in its historical, linguistic and cultural context.

Draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.

Presents a processual view of Mexican history, society and culture from ancient civilizations to the present day.

Ninety miles from Florida, the island of Cuba has since long before the Castro revolution focused its attention upon, and drawn the attention of, the United States.

Encyclopedia of Modern Latin America (1900 to the Present) covers the history and culture of Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, focusing on Latin America as it asserts itself in international politics, experiences the effects of globalization, and becomes an influential area worldwide, from the 20th century through the present day.

A Brief History of Mexico, Fourth Edition brings readers up to date on developments in Mexico, helping them understand the deeper significance of recent events. Since Felipe Calderon took office in 2006 amidst violent protests, his reforms have been aimed at drug cartels, poverty, restructuring the role of government in private businesses, and attempts to foster trade agreements with other nations. Despite the many obstacles it faces today, Mexico has become a democratic nation with checks and balances, free elections, and the ability to build a better future.

A Brief History of Central America, Second Edition explores the history of the Central American isthmus from the pre-Columbian cultures to the contemporary nations that make up the region today: Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama.

In the most comprehensive atlas of Native American history and culture available, the story of the North American Indian is told through maps, photos, art, and archival cartography. Organized by region, this encyclopedic reference details Indian tribes in these areas: beliefs, sustenance, shelter, alliances and animosities, key historical events, and more.

Contains case studies, by leading experts, of hunting and gathering peoples, in major world regions, plus thematic essays on prehistory, social life, gender, music and art, health, religion, and indigenous knowledge. Surveys the complex histories of hunter-gatherers’ encounters with colonialism and the state, and their ongoing struggles for dignity and human rights as part of the worldwide movement of indigenous peoples.

Written by contemporary authorities, the volume features many Native American contributors - including eminent writers, tribal elders, scholars, and activists - with voices as distinct as their subjects, offering a deeper and more informed appreciation of American Indian life, past and present

The story of American Indians in the 20th century is an inspiring tale of survival and rebirth from the depths of defeat. At the dawn of the 20th century, the Indian was seen by non-Indians as the "Vanishing Red Man," a symbol of nostalgia, a figure of the past with no future. Yet not only have American Indians adapted and survived, but they have brought their talents and unique cultural perspectives to many fields.

From ferocious tribes to charismatic leaders and daring militias, this new edition of The Encyclopedia of Warrior Peoples & Fighting Groups explores the origins and leadership of these powerful combat forces, chronicles their conquests and accomplishments, examines the circumstances surrounding their decline or disbanding, and assesses their influence on the groups and methods of warfare that followed.

From ancient rock drawings to todays urban living, the Native American Almanac: More Than 50,000 Years of the Cultures and Histories of Indigenous Peoples traces the rich heritage of indigenous people. It is a fascinating mix of biography, pre-contact and post-contact history, current events, Tribal Nations histories, enlightening insights on environmental and land issues, arts, treaties, languages, education, movements, and more.

Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities available under alphabetically arranged headword entries. Coverage extends across every continent and every century of history. The entries have been prepared by professional historians, and Jeremy Black, Professor of History at the University of Exeter, has acted as academic consultant.

A unique and comprehensive historical guide to the world's peoples, from the earliest times to the present.

Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.

Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.

The Encyclopedia of Empire provides exceptional in-depth, comparative coverage of empires throughout human history and across the globe.

This authoritative, well-organized, clearly written volume will prove invaluable for a variety of readers, including high school students, military historians, members of the armed forces, history buffs, and hobbyists, and will be a useful resource for both university and public library reference collections.

A comprehensive chronology of entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

A chronology of world history through March 2018.

From the first civilizations to the 21st century this wide-ranging, compulsively readable book encompasses all of world history: great ages and monumental events; the rise and fall of cultures; names, dates, and statistics, and stories galore.

The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.

Encyclopedia of North American Immigration, Revised Edition is a comprehensive encyclopedia consisting of hundreds of A-to-Z entries on events, themes, people, places, and legislation related to immigration.

This book offers an accessible discussion of both foundational and novel concepts in the study of race and ethnicity. Each account will help readers become familiar with how long standing and contemporary arguments within race and ethnicity studies contribute to our understanding of social and political life more broadly.