Islam by Credo Reference: Terms & Concepts

From The Dictionary of World Philosophy
A proper Arabic name of God through which humans call God personally. This name was used before the appearance of the Quran – for example, the name of Mohammed’s father was ‘Abd Allāh; that is, “servant of God” – and is not used merely by Muslims. Arabic speaking Christians of the Oriental churches call God by saying Allāh.

From Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World
A dhimmī is a non-Muslim living in Islamic lands who has been granted special status as a member of a religious community.

From Chamber's Dictionary of the Unexplained
The Arabic spirits of fire known as djinn, jinn or genies are frequently mentioned in the Koran.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
In Islamic law, an opinion made by a judicial/religious scholar (a mufti) on a legal, civil, or religious matter. The fatwa is usually a valuable source of information on any subject for private individuals or for judges or other authorities.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
In the Islamic tradition, trials or temptations that test the unity of the Muslim community. The term may be used to describe insurrection or civil warfare or, more specifically, to define a tribunal over doctrinal issues, broadly similar to the Christian Inquisition.

Conforming to the rules laid down by Islam. The term can be applied to all aspects of life, but usually refers to food permissible under Muslim dietary laws.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Forbidden under the laws of Islam. The term may be applied to transgressions in all aspects of life, from unlawful foodstuffs, such as meat from an animal that has not been killed in the prescribed way, to drinking intoxicating liquor and adultery.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
In Islam, the personal name of the Devil. Iblīs, one of God's angels, refused to venerate Adam at creation.

From The Reader's Companion to Military History
Jihād is an Arabic word commonly translated “holy war,” but literally meaning “striving,” as in the Qur’anic phrase “striving in the path of God.” Some Muslims, particularly in more recent times, interpret the duty of jihad in a spiritual and moral sense.

From The Dictionary of World Philosophy
Literally meaning a “place of study,” this term designated a school of higher study in the Islamic world. Its higher-study ranking presupposed that its students had memorized the entire Quran.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Tower, used in Islamic architecture, from which the faithful are called to prayer by a muezzin. Most mosques have one or more small towers, which are usually placed at the corners.

A Muslim place of worship, usually having one or more minarets and often decorated with elaborate tracery and texts from the Koran.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Any chapter of the Qur'ān. According to Muslim belief, each of the 114 sūrahs, which vary in length from several lines (known as āyahs) to several pages, encompasses one or more divine revelations of Muhammad.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
The bodies of scholars in Islamic law that form the theocratic element of the government in Muslim countries.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
In Islam, the belief that all human beings are part of a worldwide community.