Library: Geology by Credo Reference: Books

General Science Reference

The American Heritage Science Dictionary
This brand-new edition has been completely revised and updated. With over 4,500 A-Z entries, 450 full-color photographs and drawings, over 150 fascinating feature notes, and full-page tables and charts, it is the most current and comprehensive student science dictionary available.
The Penguin Dictionary of Science
A fourth, meticulously updated and revised edition of the comprehensive and renowned Penguin Dictionary of Science. The Penguin Dictionary of Science covers all the important topics in this key subject area including chemistry, physics, molecular biology, genetics, biochemistry, human anatomy, mathematics, astronomy and computing. Superbly comprehensive and accessible, this newly updated dictionary is the ideal reference tool for anyone who needs to understand scientific terms, whether student, researcher or enthusiastic layperson.
National Geographic Science of Everything
National Geographic answers all the questions about how things work--the science, technology, biology, chemistry, physics, and mechanics--in an indispensible book that reveals the science behind virtually everything.
American Biographies: American Scientists
American Scientists, Second Edition provides entries on the scientists who have greatly impacted society and the scientific community. Each entry covers the scientist's background, including details about the individual's professional career and accomplishments within the scientific world. Further reading lists enhance each entry.
The Visual Guides: Understanding the Earth
This Visual Guide answers the most important questions on the Earth through a series of videos and animations. It provides images of natural phenomena and explanations of fundamental concepts, and features the very latest discoveries in this area.

Topics in Geology

Encyclopedia of Energy
Draws together all aspects of energy, covering a wealth of areas throughout the natural, social and engineering sciences, providing easily accessible information about all aspects of energy, written by leading international authorities.
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by Haraldur Sigurdsson
This 2nd fully revised and updated edition provides a comprehensive source of information on the multidisciplinary influences of volcanic eruptions--both destructive and beneficial.
Guide to Gems
A fascinating, richly illustrated guide to the identification and use of gemstones. The introduction describes the geology, chemistry and properties of gems in clear and accessible terms. The main section supplies complete descriptions of a wide range of gems.
Guide to Global Hazards
A guide to the many large-scale disasters that affect life on Earth.
Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils
An authoritative and practical identification guide to minerals, rocks and fossils of the world.
Dictionary of Energy
An essential reference companion for anyone with an interest in energy, including scientists, consultants, journalists, economists, educators, students and policy-makers.
Field Guide to Rivers of North America
Describes North America's most significant rivers in a reader-friendly, concise format.
Standard Handbook of Petroleum and Natural Gas Engineering
A classic for over 65 years, this book is the most comprehensive source for the newest developments, advances, and procedures in the oil and gas industry.
U.S. Land & Natural Resources Policy: A Public Issues Handbook
A comprehensive overview of the policy debates surrounding U.S. public lands and the natural resources they contain. This greatly expanded sencond edition traces the origin and evolution of policy, the current debate and future direction of land and natural resources policy.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes
This comprehensive A-to-Z resource explains the specific terms, concepts, people, and organizations associated with the sciences of catastrophe --seismology and volcanology --and covers the places in the world where these destructive phenomena have occurred, as well as key environmental issues, economic dilemmas, ethical concerns, and current advances in research and technology.
Guide to the Oceans
An authoritative and richly illustrated guide to the many facets of the world's oceans and seas. The first five sections describe the genesis and evolution of the oceans, the history of exploration, leisure on the oceans, sealife, and ocean resources. The Atlas section maps the ocean basins, their circulation patterns and unique features. An Encyclopedia of Marine Life catalogues the main groups of flora and fauna.