Classics by Credo Reference: The Roman Empire

Tiberius Julius Caesar Augustus, 42 B.C.- A.D. 37, second Roman emperor (A.D. 14-37).

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
(A.D. 12-41) Caligula, the third emperor, who reigned from AD 37–41, was the youngest son of Germanicus and Agrippina the Elder.

Tiberius Claudius Drusus Nero Germanicus, 10 BC-AD 54, Roman emperor (AD 41-54), son of Nero Claudius Drusus Germanicus and thus nephew of Tiberius

Nero (37–68 CE) was the fifth Roman emperor and the last representative of Rome's first imperial dynasty, the Julio-Claudians.

From Chambers Dictionary
Roman emperor. Formerly a close friend of Emperor Nero and ex-husband of Nero's consort, the Empress Poppaea Sabina, from AD 58 until Nero's downfall (AD 68), he governed in Spain, virtually as an exile from court.

From Chambers Biographical Dictionary
Roman emperor. He became consul (AD33), and administered Aquitania, Germany, Africa and Hispania Tarraconensis with competence and integrity.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Roman emperor (69), the last of Nero’s three short-lived successors.

Titus Flavius Vespasianus, A.D. 9-A.D. 79, Roman emperor (A.D. 69-A.D. 79), founder of the Flavian dynasty.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Titus Flavius Sabinus Vespasianus, A.D. 39-A.D. 81, Roman emperor (A.D. 79-A.D. 81), son of Vespasian.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Titus Flavius Domitianus, A.D. 51-A.D. 96, Roman emperor (A.D. 81-A.D. 96), son of Vespasian.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
Marcus Cocceius Nerva, c.A.D. 30-A.D. 98, Roman emperor (A.D. 96-A.D. 98). He had an honorable career as a statesman at Rome, and his reputation was blameless.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia
Roman emperor from AD 98. He conquered Dacia (Romania) in 101–07 and much of Parthia in 113–17, bringing the empire to its greatest extent.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
A.D. 76-138, Roman emperor (117-138), b. Spain. His name in full was Publius Aelius Hadrianus.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
(AD 86 - 161) Antoninus was a Roman emperor, born at Lanuvium near Rome, the son of a consular, Aurelius Fulvus, who originated from Nîmes.

Roman emperor who ruled between March 7, 161 and March 17, 180 CE. Marcus's benevolent rule and interest in philosophy has garnered him almost universal praise among ancient and modern writers.

In Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
(161 - 192 AD) Commodus, the emperor, was born at Lanuvium, the elder surviving son of Marcus Aurelius and Faustina (2).

From The Encyclopedia of World History
The political reality of the 3rd century is summarized in the dying Septimius's advice to his sons - “Enrich the soldiers, despise everyone else.”

From Chambers Biographical Dictionary
AD146-211. Roman emperor. The founder of the Severan dynasty, he was born near Leptis Magna in North Africa.

From The Columbia Encyclopedia
(A.D. 188-217) Roman emperor (211-17); son of Septimius Severus. His real name was Marcus Aurelius Antoninus, and he received his nickname from the caracalla, a Gallic tunic he regularly wore

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Roman emperor (218-222) notable for his eccentric behaviour. Passed off as Caracalla's illegitimate son, he became emperor with the support of the army

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
Roman emperor (222-235). At age 14 he succeeded Elagabalus, who had been murdered by the Praetorian Guard.

From The Encyclopedia of World History
On the death of Severus Alexander, the internal stability of the Empire evaporated, and no emperor was able to secure the loyalty of the armies for long. Of those who ruled from 235 to 284, one died in battle, one was captured by the enemy, and one died of plague - all others either died in civil wars or were assassinated.

From Chambers Biographical Dictionary
Roman emperor. He was born of humble parentage near Salona, Dalmatia. He served under Probus, Aurelian and Carus, and was proclaimed emperor by the army (AD284).

The son of the Western Empire’s ruler, Constantius Chlorus (reigned 305–306 CE), Constantine was acclaimed emperor by the legions in Eboracum (modern York, England) after his father’s sudden death. A series of civil wars ensued, ending with Constantine in sole control of the empire by 324 CE.

(Flavius Claudius Julianus), 331-363, Roman emperor (361-63), nephew of Constantine I; successor of Constantius II. He was given an education that combined Christian and Neoplatonic ideas.

or Theodosius the Great, 346-395, Roman emperor of the East (379-95) and emperor of the West (394-95), son of Theodosius, the general of Valentinian I.

384-423, Roman emperor of the West (395-423). The weak reign of Honorius marked an important stage in the decline of the Western Empire.

From The Hutchinson Unabridged Encyclopedia with Atlas and Weather Guide
(born c.AD 461) Last Roman emperor in the western Roman empire.

From Britannica Concise Encyclopedia
First barbarian king of Italy (476-493). He was proclaimed king by his troops in 476, the date that traditionally marks the end of the Western Roman Empire.

The Eastern Roman Empire 395–1453, with its capital at Constantinople (formerly Byzantium, modern Istanbul). It was the direct continuation of the Roman Empire in the East, and inherited many of its traditions and institutions.