Facts about historical events, periods, and personalities available under alphabetically arranged headword entries. Coverage extends across every continent and every century of history. The entries have been prepared by professional historians, and Jeremy Black, Professor of History at the University of Exeter, has acted as academic consultant.

Contains entries providing clear and authoritative coverage of the most significant people, ideas and events of world history.

A comprehensive chronology of entries that span the millennia from prehistoric times to the year 2000.

A chronology of world history through March 2018.

The ultimate resource for World History, this 6 volume work covers hundreds of topics on great events, notable people throughout history, and more.

Encompasses all aspects of archaeology, including the nature and diversity of archaeology as a scientific discipline, the practice of archaeology, archaeology in the everyday world, and the future of the discipline.

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

In Ancient Chinese Warfare, a preeminent expert on Chinese military history uses recently recovered documents and archaeological findings to construct a comprehensive guide to the developing technologies, strategies, and logistics of ancient Chinese militarism. The result is a definitive look at the tools and methods that won wars and shaped culture in ancient China.

Designed for scholars, students, and the general reader, this compilation of essays shows how Classical civilizations have shaped human endeavors from art to government, mathematics to medicine, drama to urban planning, legal theory to popular culture.

This unique reference book offers one of the most comprehensive selections of Greek quotations ever committed to print. With its English text matched by the original Greek, the volume collects entries, ranging from the archaic period to late antiquity, and across philosophy, drama, poetry, history, science and medicine, each indexed with key words to enable fast sourcing. Together, these selections provide an incomparable insight into the glories of Greek civilization.

Covering the entire continent from Morocco, Libya, and Egypt in the north to the Cape of Good Hope in the south, and the surrounding islands from Cape Verde in the west to Madagascar, Mauritius, and Seychelles in the east, the eEncyclopedia is an A-Z reference resource on the history of the entire African continent.

Ranging from Egypt's predynastic cultures to the suicides of Cleopatra and Marc Antony in 30 BCE, Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, Third Edition includes detailed entries, each thoroughly reviewed and updated to reflect recent advances in scholarship.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature, Second Edition features more than 500 entries covering the literary works, writers, and concepts of the ancient world, from the beginnings to approximately 500 CE. Ranging from ancient Greece and Rome to China, Egypt, Japan, India, Persia, Babylonia, the Hebrew world, and more.

Encyclopedia of Ancient Rome, Third Edition provides comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of the people, places, events, and ideas of ancient Rome.

More than 4,000 years ago, the ancient Greeks invaded the rugged hills and fertile plains of the Balkan Peninsula, and in the centuries that followed, they built one of the greatest and most influential civilizations in history. Their enduring legacy to modern society includes mythology, poetry, drama, sculpture, architecture, science, and political thought. Spanning more than 2,000 years, from the beginning of Minoan civilization in the third millennium BCE to the Roman annexation of mainland Greece in 146 BCE, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Third Edition provides a comprehensive survey of the classical Greek world.

Represents the first comprehensive reference work encompassing the world and artistry of Homer, the historical and cultural background of the Iliad and the Odyssey, Homeric scholarship, and Homeric reception from antiquity to the present.

This richly informative and comprehensive guide to the world of late antiquity offers the latest scholarship to the researcher along with sheer reading pleasure to the browser.

Everything you always wanted to know about Ancient Greek philosophy but didn't know who to ask.

Covers the gods and goddesses of Celtic myth including the nature of Celtic religion, Celtic deities who were linked with animals and natural phenomena or who later became associated with local Christian saints, and the rich variety of Celtic myths.