Skip to main content

How to Find Articles: Instructions

This guide will help you use article collections and databases to find journal, magazine, and news articles, both scholarly and popular.

Did You Know?

Catalog or database?

Our catalog allows you to search across multiple databases all at once.

Benefits:

  • yields results from many sources
  • start searching without selecting a database

Disadvantages:

  • fewer options for focusing your results
  • results display in order of source, rather than by relevance
  • sheer number of results overwhelming


Our Find Articles page allows you to choose the database you wish to search.

Benefits:

  • more options to control and narrow the search
  • some databases dedicated specifically to certain topics

Disadvantages:

  • hard to know which database to choose
  • "Find Articles" page sometimes confusing


Our Database LibGuides can help you find the right database.

Article Sources: A-Z List

  • Access the database you want when you already know its name

Article Sources: By Subject

  • Choose databases that are best for your topic

Article Sources: By College/Discipline

  • Choose databases popular in your area of study.

Article Sources: By Brand

  • See lists of all EBSCO databases, all Gale databases, etc.

Find Articles from Journals, Magazines, etc.

There are two ways to search for articles from journals, magazines, and other sources.  You can: 

  • choose an article collection (database) from:
OR

See the box on the left to help you decide which method will work best for you. Instructions for using the Find Articles page or the catalog can be found below.

Find Articles Using the Library Catalog

  1. Start on the catalog search page.
  2. Type your search term(s) into the empty box.
  3. Click Search.
  4. Check the box for "Article" under "Format" in the left-side toolbar. You can also select "Peer-reviewed" to see only articles from scholarly journals.  Other limitations are available in the toolbar as well.
  5. Click on the "View Now" link for the article you want. 
  6. Some articles may appear in more than one database. It usually doesn't matter which "View full text" link you choose. (If one doesn't work, try another.)
  7. Information about the article will be displayed. Look for a "Full Text" icon or link to open and view the article.

Find Articles Using the "Find Articles" page

:"February"},"346":{"lang_id":1,"default_id":19379,"key_id":346,"key_name":"months_mar","key_description":"Label for the month of March","phrase":"March"},"347":{"lang_id":1,"default_id":19391,"key_id":347,"key_name":"months_apr","key_description":"Label for the month of April","phrase":"April"},"348":{"lang_id":1,"default_id":19398,"key_id":348,"key_name":"months_may","key_description":"Label for the month of May","phrase":"May"},"349":{"lang_id":1,"default_id":19373,"key_id":349,"key_name":"months_jun","key_description":"Label for the month of June","phrase":"June"},"350":{"lang_id":1,"default_id":19396,"key_id":350,"key_name":"months_jul","key_description":"Label for the month of July","phrase":"July"},"351":{"lang_id":1,"default_id":19380,"key_id":351,"key_name":"months_aug","key_description":"Label for the month of August","phrase":"August"},"352":{"lang_id":1,"default_id":19392,"key_id":352,"key_name":"months_sep","key_description":"Label for the month of September","phrase":"September"},"353":{"lang