Library: Literary Criticism: Find Articles

Find Literary Criticism

Finding Articles

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A huge, full-text collection of articles and essays of literary criticism, plot summaries and work overviews, author biographies and interviews, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and much more.
Literary Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
This growing online resource continues the library’s print collection of Gale's critical essay series. Includes the complete text of six critical series, starting from 2008 to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR's trusted digital archive of over one thousand academic journals and other scholarly items provides a wide range of content in more than 50 disciplines.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
The world's largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full-text for more than 8,500 publications in a user-friendly format with many helpful special features.

Types of Literary Articles

Critical Essay

In depth analysis of a work. Often found in literary journals, accessible from databases, and in books. Frequently highly focused on a particular aspect of the work.

Overview

Plot summaries and a study of major themes and characters. Not as specific or technical as Critical Essays.

Biography

Information about the life of the author with special focus on their literary career and major works. These are good sources for discovering the prominent themes and emphasis of a particular author.

Review

A brief article where the writer offers opinion and recommendation about the literary work. These are not usually as technical as a critical essay but some reviews are quite insightful.