Economics by Credo Reference: Books

From Karl Marx to Naomi Klein, from The Wealth of Nations to Piketty's Capital, here are the 50 most important titles on finance and world economy distilled.

In this fifth edition of Basic Economics, Thomas Sowell revises and updates his popular book on common sense economics, bringing the world into clearer focus through a basic understanding of the fundamental economic principles and how they explain our lives. Drawing on lively examples from around the world and from centuries of history, Sowell explains basic economic principles for the general public in plain English.

From Aristotle and Thomas Aquinas, to Adam Smith and John Maynard Keynes, to the top economic thought leaders of today, The Economics Book is the essential reference for students and anyone else with an interest in how economies work.

Summarizes the theoretical principles behind the science of economics and their application in such areas as competition policy, agricultural policy, fiscal policy and monetary policy.

Provides quick and easy access to current and reliable data on the major statistical measures of the U.S. economy as well as concise, jargon-free explanations of the meaning, use, and availability of macroeconomic indicators, including websites, recent trends, and current data.

Increasing economic globalization has made understanding the world economy more important than ever. From trade agreements to offshore outsourcing to foreign aid, this encyclopedia explains the key elements of the world economy and provides a first step to further research for students and scholars in public policy, international studies, business, and the broader social sciences, as well as for economic policy professionals.

The Routledge Dictionary of Economics, now in its third edition, provides the clearest, most authoritative definition of economic and financial terms available. The book is perfect for students and professionals interested in a broad range of disciplines including Business, Economics, Finance, and Accountancy and all additional subjects where a knowledge of these fields is essential.

An essential guide to the words spoken on "the Street". Covers everything from investment fundamentals to the sophisticated terminology of contemporary finance plus case studies illustrating real-world investment examples and 50 insightful tips from industry professionals.

The Changing Wealth of Nations 2018: Building a Sustainable Future covers national wealth for 141 countries over 20 years (1995-2014) as the sum of produced capital, 19 types of natural capital, net foreign assets, and human capital overall as well as by gender and type of employment.

Doing Business 2018: Reforming to Create Jobs, a World Bank Group flagship publication, is an annual report focusing on measuring the regulations that enhance business activity and those that constrain it. Doing Business presents quantitative indicators on business regulations and the protection of property rights that can be compared across 190 economies--from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe--and over time.

Fair Progress? Economic Mobility Across Generations Around the World looks at an issue that has gotten much attention in the developed world, but with, for the first time, new data and analysis covering most of the world, including developing economies. The analysis examines whether those born in poverty or in prosperity are destined to remain in the same economic circumstances into which they were born, and looks back over a half a century at whether children's lives are better or worse than their parents' in different parts of the world. It suggests local, national, and global actions and policies that can help break the cycle of poverty, paving the way for the next generation to realize their potential and improve their lives.

How's Life? 2017 charts the promises and pitfalls for people's well-being in 35 OECD countries and 6 partner countries. It presents the latest evidence from 50 indicators, covering both current well-being outcomes and resources for future well-being, and including changes since 2005. During this period there have been signs of progress, but gains in some aspects of life have been offset by losses elsewhere.

OECD Factbook is the best-selling, annual title from the OECD. It provides a global overview of todays major economic, social and environmental indicators. More countries than ever are covered in greater detail, enabling direct comparisons for many indicators between OECD Members and Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, Russian Federation and South Africa.

Perspectives on Global Development 2017 presents an overview of the shifting of economic activity to developing countries and examines whether this shift has led to an increase in international migration towards developing countries. The report focuses on the latest data on migration between 1995 and 2015, and uses a new three-way categorisation of countries.

Provides an exhaustive and authoritative guide to technical terms used in contemporary scholarly research on poverty.

The 21st century will witness the collision of two powerful forces -- burgeoning population growth, together with a changing climate. With population growth, water scarcity will proliferate to new areas across the globe. And with climate change, rainfall will become more fickle, with longer and deeper periods of droughts and deluges. This report presents new evidence to advance understanding on how rainfall shocks coupled with water scarcity, impacts farms, firms, and families.

Work is constantly reshaped by technological progress. New ways of production are adopted, markets expand, and societies evolve. But some changes provoke more attention than others, in part due to the vast uncertainty involved in making predictions about the future. The 2019 World Development Report looks at how the nature of work is changing as a result of advances in technology today.

Details both the current and historical state of child labor in each region of the world, focusing on its causes, consequences, and cures.

This dictionary is an alternative and a counter-balance to the many political dictionaries that ignore or marginalize the history and influence of anti-capitalist movements.

A complete reference on CSR, compiled by the Institute for Corporate Cultural Affairs (the ICCA). The entries have been written by leading experts, leading global thinkers and CSR practitioners.

A valuable reference resource dedicated to improving our understanding of the economic mind and economic behaviour.

The comprehensive Encyclopedia features accessible, informative and provocative contributions by leading international scholars working in the tradition of Keynes.

Offers a detailed and comprehensive account of the subject that deals with the intersection of economics and political science.

A collection of historical research on strikes in America comprised of two types of essays, those focused on an industry or economic sector and those focused on a theme. This approach provides a detailed perspective as well broad historical and social coverage of the topic

The definitive reference on the history of trade in all time periods. It traces the historical and contemporary interaction of trade, commerce, and culture in fascinating detail. Primary sources in this title

This title presents vast era overviews, event and movement profiles, biographies, business and industry profiles, geographic profiles, and more.

Focuses on international and global concerns in economic sociology, institutional analysis, the transition from socialist economies, organization and networks, and the economic sociology of the ancient world.

Clearly and concisely explains the central ideas, debates and theories of work.

Now updated to include more information on Adam Smith, Karl Marx, Joseph Stglitz, imperfect markets, and behavioral economics, Mark Skousen's popular work provides an accessible introduction to the major economic thinkers of the past 225 years - including little-known and often amusing facts about their personal lives.

The Value of a Dollar 1600-1865 is for both the user who simply wants to know what life was like for early Americans to the serious historical researcher. This fascinating survey will serve a wide range of research needs and will be useful in all high school, public and academic library reference collections.

The Value of a Dollar records the actual prices of thousands of items that consumers purchased from the Civil War to the present, along with facts about investment options and income opportunities.

Provides context and analysis to the modern era of corporate corruption.

Focuses on the growth and expansion of banking, securities, and insurance from the colonial period right up to the incredible growth of the stock market during the 1990s and the attack on the World Trade Center in 2001.

Offers articles with key themes in over 250 best practice and thought leadership articles. This edition comprises key perspectives on environmental, social, and governance factors -- essential for understanding the long-term sustainability of a company.

Clear, accessible, and cross-referenced explanations of today's most essential financial terms, including vocabulary related to accounting, finance, banks and banking, economics, investing, markets, real estate, and securities.