Skip to main content

Music Research Guide: Find Articles Online

Created for DBU's music students, this guide will help you discover the best library resources for many types of assignments.

Did You Know?

Catalog or database?

Our catalog allows you to search across multiple databases all at once.

Benefits:

  • the search will yield results from many sources
  • you don't have to select a database to get started.

Disadvantages:

  • fewer options for focusing your results
  • results display in order of source, rather than by relevance
  • sheer number of results may be overwhelming


Our Find Articles page allows you to choose the database you wish to search.

Benefits:

  • more options to control and narrow your search
  • some databases dedicated specifically to certain topics

Disadvantages:

  • you may not know which database to choose
  • Find Articles page can be confusing


Our Database LibGuides can help you find the right database.

Find Article Sources: A-Z List

  • Access the database you want when you already know its name

Find Article Sources: By Subject

  • Choose databases that are best for your topic

 Find Article Sources: By College/Discipline

  • Choose databases popular with your area of study.

Find Article Sources: By Brand

  • See lists of all EBSCO databases, all Gale databases, etc.

Find Articles from Journals, Magazines, etc.

There are two ways to search for articles from journals, magazines, and other sources.  You can:

  • choose an article collection (database) from:
OR

See the instructions below.

Find Articles Using the "Find Articles" page

  1. Start on the Find Articles page.
  2. Choose from one of our "Premium" collections that cover all topics (white buttons), or choose a specialized collection from the list of "Special Sources by Topic." 
  3. To choose a specialized source, roll over the topic, then choose an option from the pop-up list.
  4. If prompted, submit your DBU username and password, and log in.
  5. Type your search term(s) in the empty text boxes provided.
  6. Place any limitations you want on your search -- full-text only, certain year or span of years, peer-reviewed only, etc. Different databases have different options.
  7. Click Search.
  8. Full-text articles will have a link for opening the file -- usually in PDF format.  You can read, download, print out, or even email the article.
  9. If you find an article that is not available in full text, check our library catalog to see if we have a subscription to the journal. If we do, you can find the journal in the library and make a copy of the article.  (Journals can't be checked out from the library.)  
  10. If we don't have a subscription, you can use our Interlibrary Loan service to get the article from another library.  Click here to learn more about Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Find Articles Using the Library Catalog

  1. Start on the catalog search page.
  2. Type your search term(s) into the empty box.
  3. Check "Limit to Full Text Articles" under the text box.
  4. Click Search.
  5. You can limit your results by using options in the toolbar - by year, by type, or peer-reviewed only.
  6. Click on the "View Now" link for the article you want. 
  7. Some articles may appear in more than one database. It usually doesn't matter which "View full text" link you choose.
  8. Information about the article will be displayed. Look for a "Full Text" icon or link to open and view the article.