Skip to main content

Music Research Guide: Hymns and Hymnology

Created for DBU's music students, this guide will help you discover the best library resources for many types of assignments.

Books About Hymns

Websites for Hymns and Hymnology

American Sacred Music

19th and early 20th century sacred music published in the United States, with a focus on music from the Midwest. In addition to hymns and anthems, the collection includes cantatas, revival songs, and other types of sacred music.

American Vernacular Music Manuscripts, ca. 1730-1910 (AVMM)

Manuscript music documenting American musical culture from the Colonial period until the early 20th century, from the collections of the American Antiquarian Society and the Center for Popular Music. The digital collection contains about 350 music manuscripts (with 10,000+ pieces of music), including song and tunebooks, sheet music, and commonplace books.  

Christian Classics Ethereal Library Hymn Tune Library  

Hymn Resources on the Internet

Hymn Tune Index

Hymnal Net

Hymnary.org: a comprehensive index of hymns and hymnals  

Hymns and Spiritual Songs

HymnSite.com

Hymn Society in the United States and Canada  

Name That Hymn

Net Hymnal/Cyber Hymnal

Musiksammlung der Württembergischen Landesbibliothek

The music collections of the Württembergische Landesbibliothek, including archives of monastic music, hymns and choir books, and the archives of Württemberg Court Theatre ca. 1750-1935.

Oremus Hymnal: Index of The New English Hymnal, 1986

Theological Commons

Digitized books, periodicals, and audio recordings related to theology and religion. Subcollections include the Benson Collection of Hymnals and Hymnology, the Payne Theological Seminary and A.M.E. (African Methodist Episcopal) Church Archive, and the T.F. Torrance Collection of Antiquarian Books (including materials related to the history of Christianity in Scotland).

The list of links above is courtesy of Murl M. Winters, Associate Library Director at Evangel University