Skip to main content

Education Research Guide: Find Articles Online

Information about library resources for DBU's education majors and cohort members.

Coming soon - our new, full-function database list.  Search by name, subject, type, or vendor.  You can try it out NOW!  Try using the Subject drop-down list to find all of our databases for Education.

New A-Z Database Search Portal (Beta)

Did You Know?

Catalog or database?

Our catalog allows you to search across multiple databases all at once.

Benefits:

  • the search will yield results from many sources
  • you don't have to select a database to get started.

Disadvantages:

  • fewer options for focusing your results
  • results display in order of source, rather than by relevance
  • sheer number of results may be overwhelming

Our A-Z Databases page allows you to choose the database you wish to search.

Benefits:

  • more options to control and narrow your search
  • some databases dedicated specifically to certain topics

The A-Z Databases page:

  • can be searched by topic
  • features most popular databases on the right
  • shows new and updated databases immediately

Find Articles from Journals, Magazines, etc.

There are several ways to search for articles from journals, magazines, and other sources.  You can:

  • choose an article collection (database) from
    • the "Education Resources" list below;
    • the "Article Databases" tab above;
    • the A-Z Databases list; OR
  • utilize the Library Catalog.

See the instructions below.

Education Resources

Find Articles Using a Database

  1. Choose a database (see above).
  2. If prompted, submit your DBU username and password, and log in.
  3. Type your search term(s) in the empty text boxes provided.
  4. Place any limitations you want on your search: full-text only, certain year or span of years, peer-reviewed only, etc. Different databases have different options.
  5. Click Search.
  6. Full-text articles will have a link for opening the file, usually in PDF format.  You can read, download, print out, or even email the article.
  7. If you find an article that is not available in full text, check our library catalog to see if we have a subscription to the journal. If we do, you can find the journal in the library and make a copy of the article.  (Journals can't be checked out from the library.)  
  8. If we don't have a subscription, you can use our Interlibrary Loan service to get the article from another library.  Click here to learn more about Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

Find Articles Using the Library Catalog

  1. Start on the catalog search page.
  2. Type your search term(s) into the empty box.
  3. Click Search.
  4. In the left toolbar, choose "Full text" under Available Online.  Under Format, choose "Articles."
  5. You can limit your results by using options in the toolbar - by year, by type, or peer-reviewed only.
  6. Click on the "View Now" link for the article you want. 
  7. Some articles may appear in more than one database. It usually doesn't matter which "View full text" link you choose.
  8. Information about the article will be displayed. Look for a "Full Text" icon or link to open and view the article.